Yousef Dave

What is your artist name? My artist name is Yousef Dave, I also go by YD or Mr. Sun. Yousef is a play on words for yourself. It is a reminder to myself and those I encounter to always be themselves. YD is the shortened form of my name and it is what I use to sign my paintings/drawings. Mr. Sun is essentially my personality, aiming to bring enlightenment of some sort to whoever I cross paths with. 

What kind of music do you make?  Musically, I aim to create music that touches all hearts. Very eclectic sounds and some yet to be heard i’m sure. My music really comes from my experiences and what I observe/research from life. Influence wise I have to say God, nature, common, nas, tribe called quest, donnie mcclurkin, stevie wonder, michael jackson, yarbrough people, john coltrane, charlie parker… the list goes on really. I enjoy all forms of music and feel you can take something away from many of the great storytellers of our eras/generations. I generally just listen to what the production is saying, music really is a language. I try to have a conversation with it, find a solution, spread love, or question the position. My music is really sharing wisdom and seeking to find wisdom, wrapped up in love and encouragement to push further. I believe the highs of life deserve as much attention as the lows. I do not curse in my work and I encourage those I work with to do the same, not to stifle creativity but to encourage pushing the normal verbal boundaries we may become accustomed to.  

How old are you and when did you start creating music? I am 28, My career has been off and on. December 15th, 2018 was the rebirth of it. The spark came back and ever since I’ve been creating and hitting the ground running with God. 

What are your goals when it comes to your music career? I want to leave a musical legacy that will impact many generations to come, I truly believe because of the power of music, there is a relationship it shares with youth that really taps into what they believe they can become. If I can encourage those interested in the arts to follow their dreams then I am content. 

What do you want the reader to know about you and your music? My music is me, every release is a piece of my journey. The catalogue itself is an audiobook. Seeking to understand? Take a listen and let the music show you where to go.

undefined

Follow him on Twitter: @ItsYousefDave

Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/artist/0gXGELhcv3YROd3lB7OS9n?si=57klgJ_vTmOXkzhDHXbkXQ

SoundCloud: https://soundcloud.com/yousef-dave

Apple Music: https://music.apple.com/us/artist/yousef-dave/1458724243?app=music&ign-mpt=uo%3D4

Amazon (Author Page): https://www.amazon.com/Yousef-Dave/e/B0813WVXSF?ref_=dbs_p_ebk_r00_abau_000000

Published by lizardspovblog

The Goal is to help artist get heard while building my platform. The most difficult part of this is getting the artist to understand - we need them to support the blog for it to serve their needs. #WeDoThis

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started